Read “Take Care” in Shooter Literary Magazine

Shooter magazine cover

Today, I can say that I am an internationally published author! Across the pond in the UK, Shooter Literary Magazine is celebrating the printing of their first issue while I celebrate the fact that my short story “Take Care” is included in the volume. Another cool milestone–this is my first printed publication. That means a bound book with a fancy cover and my name in print. I can’t wait to smell its hot-off-the-press pages!

A little about “Take Care.” This is one of those stories where art most definitely imitated life. When we first started hanging out, my boyfriend and I went to a Garbage concert. Naturally, I took the opportunity to channel my inner (and outer) Shirley Manson for the occasion since my then crush had shared he’d always had a thing for Shirley. So I was all red hair, heavy eyeliner, and punk clothing. I got us a couple of beers to drink during the opening act, and after a few sips, my crush got really sick. When all was said and done, we determined he’d been drugged–and it had probably been meant for me (fucked up, right?).

Luckily, we caught it early enough and after chugging two liters of water, my crush was feeling okay enough to go back into the concert. We wound up having a great night and when enough time had passed and we made our relationship official, we started joking about the experience, because clearly I’d drugged him to get his attention, right? (Because that tactic makes so much sense and this girl who’s never so much as smoked a cigarette would be all about drugging someone–I hope you all sense the sarcasm there.)

Another night, over drinks with my friend, Sara, I told her the account of the Garbage concert. And through the hazy cloud of IPA drunkenness, I mused about turning that whole debacle into a short story. I would write it in first person from the point of view of a truly single white female character who goes to desperate measures to get the attention of the object of her affection. The next day, my fingers couldn’t type fast enough. “Take Care” was born.

And now you can read it in Shooter’s first edition, aptly named Pulling the Trigger, a collection of stories about crucial moments and decisions. Alongside my story, you can read a personal account of a WWII officer’s critical order to fire, a comic take on martial relations as retirement looms, maternal perfectionism, devious pharmaceutical plots, a gangster with a fast food addiction, and a schoolboy with an embarrassing nun fetish.

Visit Shooter’s site, click Subscriptions, and order your copy today!

 

 

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Read “Take Care” in Shooter Literary Magazine

  1. So so so so super dee duper proud of you lady.  What an honor!  You have really grown into a kick-ass writer and you now have the hardcopy to show for it.  It’s been wonderful watching you really grow your creative chops.  Mucho congrats, xoxoxoxo : – D ________________________________________________________________________________

    PLEASE TAKE NOTE OF NEW E-MAIL ADDRESS,

    LAWLADY85@GMAIL.COM

    Nicole G. Conge, Esq.

    (602) 332-7055 From: tiffanymichellebrown To: nicolegwells@yahoo.com Sent: Friday, February 6, 2015 8:46 AM Subject: [New post] Read “Take Care” in Shooter Literary Magazine #yiv2961313254 a:hover {color:red;}#yiv2961313254 a {text-decoration:none;color:#0088cc;}#yiv2961313254 a.yiv2961313254primaryactionlink:link, #yiv2961313254 a.yiv2961313254primaryactionlink:visited {background-color:#2585B2;color:#fff;}#yiv2961313254 a.yiv2961313254primaryactionlink:hover, #yiv2961313254 a.yiv2961313254primaryactionlink:active {background-color:#11729E;color:#fff;}#yiv2961313254 WordPress.com | tiffanymichellebrown posted: “Today, I can say that I am an internationally published author! Across the pond in the UK, Shooter Literary Magazine is celebrating the printing of their first issue while I celebrate the fact that my short story “Take Care” is included in the volume. A” | |

    • Awww, thank you! It’s been a ride, let me tell you. I can’t wait to receive my copy from Shooter in the mail. I’m going to photograph that thing like it’s my kid. lol. And again, thank you for your love and support. xoxo

Leave a Reply

