The Curtain Goes Up on The Little Mermaid TONIGHT!

Little Mermaid

One of my fondest childhood memories is going to see Disney’s The Little Mermaid in the theater with my dad. I remember being incredibly terrified by Ursula when she grew to mammoth proportions and threatened to take over the sea. And goodness did I want to be a mermaid! Over the next few years, my friends and I regularly tipped over our Fisher Price picnic table so that we could sit in it like a boat and reenact, oh, the whole movie. And I will confess, at the ripe old age of 28, I still sing “Part of Your World” in my house when I’m alone. 

Let’s face it: mermaids are pretty magical. 

So when asked if you’d like to choreograph a stage production of Disney’s The Little Mermaid you don’t say no. 

Well, I didn’t anyway. I said, uh, yeah!!! 

The curtain goes up on Desert Foothills Theater’s production tonight and I am stupidly happy to have my name printed in the program. As always, I’m so proud of the kids in this show. I’m proud of them because they learn and work and remember and perform. They remind me of how special theater can be. And they’re just so dang cute. 

If you want to relive the magic of Disney’s The Little Mermaid, come see the show. It debuts tonight and runs through Sunday the 13th. Tickets are disappearing quickly, so get yours today through the Desert Foothills Theater website. 

Hope to see you at the show!

Leave a Reply

