I Made Gluten-Free, Dairy-Free Cupcakes and No One Died!

IMAG0822

Wedding cupcakes are special. They are. Maybe it’s because weddings in and of themselves are pretty magical events – slow dancing, great wine, sweet nothings proclaimed into microphones instead of whispered. And good cakes are the cherry on top. They give weddings that little extra umph. So when I’m asked to bake cupcakes for weddings, I always get a little giddy.

Such was the case when friends of mine asked for cakes for their wedding at Granite Creek Vineyards in Chino Valley this past weekend.

However, there was a catch. I would need to make a batch of gluten-free, dairy-free cupcakes so that the bride could enjoy some cake on her big day without the impending doom of her food allergies flaring up. (No one wants to be sick on their honeymoon!)

IMAG0823

You’d think that with the influx of food allergies these days, I would have been asked before now to dabble in gluten-free/dairy-free/vegan/sugar-free/whatever kinds of cakes – but I haven’t. And I have to admit, I was a little terrified. I needed to make these cakes spectacular for my spectacular friends.

And so the experimenting began. Champagne. Strawberries. Rice flour. Guar gum. Garbanzo bean flour. Earth Balance. Extra vanilla. Daiya cream cheese. Rice paper butterflies. Sprinkles. Mixing equal parts chemistry, pride (see: Tiffany is stubborn), help from my favorite sous-chef (you know who you are), and love, the cupcakes came together.

And I have to say, I was pretty proud of them. They were elegant and (somehow) tasty, too.

This weekend, I had the best present to give to a couple about to embark on a life together: sugar to keep them sweet, guar gum to keep them together, champagne for celebration, and rice flour because..they still throw rice at weddings, right?

Good luck, my friends, and thank you for letting me be a part of your special day!!!

3 thoughts on “I Made Gluten-Free, Dairy-Free Cupcakes and No One Died!

Leave a Reply

