The Write Place, The Write Time

Photo by flickruser "urbanworkbench."

Photo by flickruser “urbanworkbench.”

My goal is to be published within the next six to nine months. And it’s going to happen. I can feel it in my bones. I’m hungry for it. And I can’t stop writing. I’ve become a literary madwoman. And I’m okay with that.

Revisiting an old short story, See How Her Garden Grows, and a number of my college stories and essays has lit a fire under me. I had this epiphany while perusing my old works and editing them, and the realization was that I’m a really good writer and that I need to be taking more chances with my writing. Posting stories on my blog is great, but it’s safe. Why am I not submitting these stories to contests or literary magazines?

Well, now I am. And each time I hit the “submit” button, it’s a rush of adrenaline to the system. Each time I get a rejection email, I simply go back to the list of publications I want to submit to and I’m inspired again. In fact, some of my best writing has occurred on days when people have said “no” to my writing. Weird, huh? You’d think I’d be discouraged. Apparently, I’m not.  

Within the past couple of weeks, I’ve submitted four poems and three short stories to a number of literary magazines. The submission whirlwind also inspired a story which I don’t intend to submit. I want it to be the foundational piece for a new project I’m working on, a collection of short stories, because I also realized that maybe I’m not the novel-writing type. This new story pushes the boundaries quite a bit. It’s probably one of the weirdest and most risqué things I’ve ever written. I consider that progress.

I’ve researched writing prompts and I’m currently working on a bizarre one: Write about a town that runs out of its sugar supply. Of course, running out of sugar is too easy. It’s not interesting enough for me. My story will involve government conspiracy and perhaps the beginnings of a zombie apocalypse. Well, maybe. It’s too early to tell, but those are my initial musings.

The drive I’m feeling right now is like a high. And I have to admit it’s pretty cool. I’m happy to be working toward a goal right now, one that will leave a lasting impression.

It’s time. Here’s hoping you’ll be reading me soon.

 

Photo licensing – urbanworkbench

Leave a Reply

